Federal Development Minister Dr Gerd Müller in Eritrea

Bundesentwicklungsminister Gerd Mueller, CSU besucht Eritrea Enlarge image (© Ute Grabowsky / photothek.net)

Being the first German minister after 20 years, Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development Dr Gerd Müller visited Asmara. The Minister and his delegation arrived in the early evening of December 14th from a state visit in Cairo. On their arrival at Asmara International Airport, they were welcomed by the staff of the German Embassy and Eritrea's Foreign Minister.

On the occasion of a dinner with international organisations' representatives, the UN, and diplomats in Asmara, the current situation and possibilities for future cooperation in Eritrea were discussed.

The second day of the visit was centred around Dr Müller's talk with State President Isaias Afewerki. In their meeting, issues of human rights and Eritrea's role in international politics were discussed intensively. „It was a very important meeting“, the German Federal Minister stated, and next steps would follow. These include the continuation of the dialogue and agreements for a cooperative improvement of living conditions in Eritrea.

Federal Minister Müller in Eritrea Enlarge image Federal Minister Dr. Gerd Müller and Isayas Afewerki, State President of Eritrea in the president's official residence in Asmara. (© Ute Grabowsky / photothek.net)
Federal Minister Müller in Eritrea Enlarge image Federal Minister Dr. Müller in the neonatological ward of the Orotta Hospital in Asmara. (© Ute Grabowsky / photothek.net)

Afterwards, members of the German NGO ArcheMed took the delegation on a tour through the Orotta hospital in Asmara, informing about medical improvements and plans in Eritrea. In the future, the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development will contribute additional means for humanitarian aid and the training of doctoral students.

In the afternoon of the second day, Dr Müller visited the Eritrean Institute of Technology (EIT), the nation's largest institution for higher education. Students, instructors and volunteers explained the possibilities and necessities for higher education in Eritrea while taking the delegation on a campus round tour.

During an open round table discussion with Eritrean youth organisations, the members of the delegation discussed causes of flight and possible approaches to improve the future perspectives of younger generations. Every month, a high number of primarily young people leave Eritrea on extremely dangerous routes for Europe. „We need to think of the people in this country. For them, we have to improve the living conditions in their homeland“, Minister Müller concluded.

As a result of this visit, the German-Eritrean dialogue on possible projects of development cooperation will be continued and intensified in the forthcoming months.

Federal Minister Müller in Eritrea Enlarge image Members of the delegation and the German Embassy at Asmara International Airport. (© Ute Grabowsky / photothek.net)

Bundesminister Dr. Gerd Müller in Eritrea

Bundesentwicklungsminister Gerd Mueller, CSU besucht Eritrea Bild vergrößern v.l. Guenter Nooke, Persoenlicher Afrika-Beauftragter der Bundeskanzlerin/Afrikabeauftragter des BMZ, Andreas Zimmer, Botschafter von Eritrea, Bundesentwicklungsminister Gerd Mueller, CSU, und Staatspraesident Eritraeas, Isaias Afewerki, Asmara, 15.12.2015. Copyright: Ute Grabowsky/ photothek.net [Tel. +493028097440 - www.photothek.net - Jegliche Verwendung nur gegen Honorar und Beleg. Urheber-/Agenturvermerk wird nach Paragraph13 UrhG ausdruecklich verlangt! Es gelten ausschliesslich unsere AGB.] (© Ute Grabowsky / photothek.net)

Als erster deutscher Bundesminister seit 20 Jahren besuchte Dr. Gerd Müller Eritrea. Die Delegation des Ministers für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung traf nach einem Aufenthalt in Kairo in den frühen Abendstunden des 14.12. am Asmara International Airport ein, wo sie von den Mitarbeitern und Mitarbeiterinnen der Deutschen Botschaft und dem eritreischen Außenminister empfangen wurde.

Bei einem Abendessen mit Vertretern und Vertreterinnen internationaler Organisationen, der UN sowie verschiedene Diplomaten vor wurden die aktuelle Lage in Eritrea und Möglichkeiten der Zusammenarbeit diskutiert.

Der zweite Tag des Besuches stand ganz im Zeichen des Gesprächs mit Staatspräsident Isaias Afewerki. Während des Treffens wurde die menschenrechtliche und politische Situation des Landes ausführlich diskutiert. „Es war ein wichtiges Gespräch“, sagte Bundesminister Müller, und weitere Schritte würden folgen. Dazu gehören die Fortführung des bilateralen Dialogs und Vereinbarungen für die gemeinsame Verbesserungen der Lebensbedingungen in Eritrea.

Bundesminister Müller in Eritrea Bild vergrößern Bundeminister Dr. Gerd Mueller und Isayas Afewerki, Staatspräsident Eritreas im Amtssitz des Präsidenten in Asmara. (© Ute Grabowsky / photothek.net)
Bundesminister Müller in Eritrea Bild vergrößern Bundesminister Müller in der Neonatologie des Orotta Krankenhauses in Asmara. (© Ute Grabowsky / photothek.net)

Im städtischen Orotta Krankenhaus wurde der Minister anschließend von Mitgliedern der Organisation ArcheMed e.V. durch verschiedene Stationen des Krankenhauses geführt und über die medizinischen Fortschritte und Pläne in Eritrea informiert. Auch das Bundesministerium wird künftig zusätzliche Hilfsmittel für humanitäre Hilfe und die Ausbildung medizinischen Fachpersonals bereitstellen.

Am Nachmittag des zweiten Tages besuchte die Delegation das Eritrean Institute of Technology, die größte Hochschule des Landes, wo sie von Studierenden, Lehrenden und ehrenamtlichen Helfern und Helferinnen über die Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten in Eritrea informiert wurde.

Außerdem wurden bei einer offenen Gesprächsrunde mit eritreischen Jugendorganisationen die Fluchtursachen der überwiegend jungen Flüchtlinge aus Eritrea thematisiert und Ansatzpunkte für die Schaffung hoffnungsvollerer Zukunftsperspektiven im Heimatland diskutiert. Eine Vielzahl junger Menschen aus Eritrea nimmt jeden Monat die lebensbedrohliche Reise nach Europa auf sich. „Wir müssen an die Menschen denken und an einer Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen vor Ort arbeiten“, so Bundesminister Müller.

Initiiert durch diesen Besuch der deutschen Delegation werden in den kommenden Monaten weitere Treffen für einen deutsch-eritreischen Dialog und mögliche Projekte der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit stattfinden.

Bundesminister Müller in Eritrea Bild vergrößern Mitglieder der Delegation und der Deutschen Botschaft am Asmara International Airport. (© Ute Grabowsky / photothek.net)